Keep emotional vampires at bay: How to hide your relationship status in Facebook (November 2012)

So you’ve broken up with someone and, rather than deal with questions from your Facebook friends about the sordid details because they’ve just been notified that your status has changed from “In a relationship” to “Single”, you just want to let it slip away quietly, sobbing into your drink with a few real life friends who aren’t such emotional vampires. What to do?

The answer is to hide your relationship status. You can hide it then change it (or not, if you’re into denial), so only you will see the updated status. Here’s how. Please note: these instructions come without warranty, so use at your own risk.

First step, go to Facebook. Once you’re there, go to your profile by clicking on your name on the left hand side of the page.

Once you’re there, take a minute or ten to browse around, remembering all the good times you’ve had and how you’ll be glad to lose the passive aggressive posts you’ve been leaving on each other’s pages. Then when you’re ready – not before, don’t rush it – click on “Update info” just under the photo at the top of your screen on the right hand side.

In the relationship box on the info edit page which you’re now on, click on the “Edit” in the upper right hand corner of the square labelled “Relationships”.

Now change the visibility to “Only me”. Click on the little people icon in the top right hand corner of the edit box that’s appeared. Please note the image below is before you’ve changed it. You want to end up with the tick by “Only me.”

Now click the save button in the lower right corner of the Relationship edit thing. THIS IS IMPORTANT.

At this point, it makes sense to check and see that the changes have taken. You can view your profile as someone else (instructions to follow in a future post) and make sure that your relationship, has, in fact, vanished from view.

There’s one more thing you can do, if you’d like. You can actually change your relationship status. Simply go through all the above again and change it in the drop down panel in that relationship box. You could do it at the same time as changing the visibility to “Only me” but I’m guessing you really don’t want anyone to know about it, so it might lessen the paranoia a bit to do it in two steps, checking that it’s worked by viewing as someone else in between.

And sorry about your breakup. Hope you feel better soon. xx

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *